Using a trademark to claim a name

Hi Guys. Quick question.
There is a username on IG that I really want. It’s not too generic, 9 letters, and its been inactive for a very long time. (at least 2+ years)
I wanted to get it without paying too much so I got a trademark on the name but when I tried to claim it through Instagram it didn’t work. They said that since the name is inactive it would not “create confusion”
Do you guys know if there is any way for me to get the username? (without paying someone on here)
I’m a bit new to this.

Best
Ali

Which platform? Some won’t care about your trademark (like YouTube, for example).

Ahh sorry, didn’t see the IG part. Facebook is pretty lax on such requests, as far as I know. If it’s really inactive, you should be able to claim it.

Not all terms are subject to trademark protection… Protection depends on a variety of factors, including how unique, generic or descriptive the trademark is and the manner that it’s used… In your case I think the denied you based on the latter… “thre manner that it’s used”… while you have the trademark on the name… the manner it is being used according to Instagram is not causing any confusion…and it being inactive compounds that.

I tried and they said no :upside_down_face:

Do you think I should try again in a month or so?

Why did they say no?

This is what they said
"we are unable to give you the username you’ve requested at this time. The reported username does not violate our policies, and it isn’t clear to us that this username infringes your trademark rights. Specifically,

It appears that you have trademark rights in USA while the reported party’s content appears to be from Saudi Arabia."

Does that mean I would need a Saudi Arabian trademark in order to get the account?

Not really since they went with the “it’s not infringing on your trademark” route. That’s odd that they refused though (if it’s really inactive).

What I did when I approached IG was I told them: